

SWP Steering Board (re-)elections

1. Situation

In 2017, 2 out of the 12 Steering Board (SB) seats have to be renewed.

| SB Member | Member organisation | Elected | End of Mandate | Sector |
|----------------------------|---|---------|-------------------|---|
| Johannes Heeb | Cewas | 2015 | 2018 | Private |
| Eric Plan | Cleantech Alps | 2015 | 2018 | Network / professional associations |
| Olga Darazs, Co-Chair | CSD Engineers | 2015 | 2018 | Private |
| Chris Zurbrügg | Eawag | 2015 | 2018 | Research |
| Darcy Molnar | ETHZ, Institute of Environmental Engineering | 2016 | 2019 | Research |
| Nidal Salim | Global Institute for Water, Environment and Health | 2015 | 2018 | Non Profit |
| Ulrich Steiner | Holinger AG | 2015 | 2018 | Private |
| Edi Medilanski | State Secretariat of Economic Affairs (SECO) | 2015 | 2018 | Public sector |
| Christian Eggs | Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) | 2015 | 2018 | Public sector |
| René Müller | Swiss Waterkiosk Foundation | 2014 | 2017 | Non Profit |
| Jean-Benoît Charrin | Co-Founder and currently member of the Board of Directors of WaterLex | 2015 | 2018 | Independent / Non Profit |
| Thomas Zeller, Co-Chair | | 2016 | 2019 | Independent / Public |



René Müller has decided to not run for an additional mandate in the Steering Board, as he wants to stay as available as possible for his society and his foundation (waterkiosk.org). The Steering Board and the Secretariat regret his decision and thank him warmly for his engagement and advices since 2014. The Waterkiosk foundation remains a member of the SWP.

Christian Eggs (SDC), will be leaving Switzerland to the coordination office of SDC in Niamey. He is therefore in the impossibility to keep his position in the steering board of the Swiss Water Partnership (SWP). The Steering Board and the Secretariat would also like to express their warmest thanks for his contributions towards shaping the partnership.

As mentioned in the statutes of the SWP, "SWP's strategic partner(s) contributing significantly to the SWP are offered a seat in the Steering Board". Through its strong financial support to the SWP, SDC counts as a strategic partner and the seat will thus not be put to election. Christian Eggs will be replaced by Johan Gély in the Steering Board.

Johan Gély is the head of the SDC Water Division (Global Program Water). He has dedicated his entire career overseas (advising multi-stakeholder platforms, governments, civil society organisations and the private sector in transitional economies, fragile states and emerging market economies in Asia, Africa and Latin America) and in Switzerland (Federal Department of Economic Affairs and the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs) to support our common goal: positioning water prominently in the governments and the global debate to contribute to a water-secure world for All.

To succeed to René Müller, two candidatures have been submitted to the secretariat: the one of Rose Osinde Alabaster (WaterLex) and the one Grégoire Castella (Antenna Foundation). Please find their profile hereafter and do not forget to vote for them while registering for the General Assembly.



2. Candidates

Rose Osinde Alabaster, Programme Director, Africa Region, WaterLex



Rose Alabaster is a water and sanitation governance and policy expert (with specialized knowledge of human rights and conflict resolution), with close to 20 years global experience working at international, national and sub-national levels with key development partners including bilateral donors and regional banks such as the African Development Bank. Her experience goes beyond the traditional water sector partners, and includes the formulation and audit of projects and

programmes that support sustainable planning, evaluation, research on social, economic issues related to sustainable development, as well as at advisory level to governments and programming.

Rose Alabaster currently holds additional strategic responsibilities, that would benefit SWP particularly her direct engagement with UN agencies involved in implementing and monitoring SDG 6; providing technical inputs to broader global discussions on water governance in the Africa region through the Good Governance Working Group for Pan-African SDG Monitoring Framework under AMCOW; and global monitoring through the Steering Committee of the Group on Earth Observations Global Water Sustainability (GEOGLOWS). Rose already works closely with quite a number of SWP members directly and on a more consultative basis, and is familiar with the Swiss water partners` vision and her experience and extensive network would benefit SWP in fostering north-south collaboration and knowledge sharing. Rose would be greatly privileged to serve as a member of the SWP Steering Board.

Grégoire Castella, Deputy Director, Antenna Foundation



After completing his PhD in Life Sciences in 2008, Greg got out of the lab and joined the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC). He served in the field as a delegate and manager in Central African Republic, Ivory Coast, Afghanistan and Colombia. Upon returning to Switzerland, Greg joined Antenna Foundation as deputy director. Antenna is an innovation-fordevelopment foundation, which has successfully brought to the

market innovative products to meet the basic needs of people living at the BOP. After the successful launch of ELEPHANT VERT SA, a mission-driven company producing organic fertilizers for African farmers, Antenna is now incubating, under Greg's supervision, 2 social ventures in the fields of safe water and access to energy.

Greg wishes to address those words to the SWP: "I am convinced that my unique blend of experience in academia, humanitarian aid and, most importantly, in building sustainable models to bring safe water over the last mile, will add value to the work of



the steering board. Our foundation's expertise in developing and delivering energy, agriculture and nutrition products and services will also be useful. I believe that my positive and cooperative personality will allow me to integrate smoothly in the team. My profile will hopefully complete and nicely fit the already diverse profiles of the actual board."

3. Election procedure

Each SWP member has one vote. You may also vote for candidates which are not official candidates.

Election are held electronically and are opened until 23.05.2016 at midnight. Results will be announced at the General Assembly.

| When? | What? | | |
|------------|---|--|--|
| 03.04.2017 | A call for candidature is made via infomail. | | |
| 19.04.2017 | Candidatures are closed. | | |
| 28.04.2017 | Together with the sending of the invitations for the General Assembly, the election procedure is opened via SurveyMonkey. | | |
| | Each member organization can vote for one candidate. You can only attribute one vote to a candidate. | | |
| | Votes for persons which are not official candidates are still possible. | | |
| 21.05.2017 | Election polls close at midnight. | | |
| 23.05.2017 | General Assembly: the results of the election are announced | | |